Timberline Elementary, located in the heart of Grapevine, Texas opened in 1980 surrounded by woods and a creek. Under the leadership of former Grapevine teacher, Riney Jordan, Timberline was the fourth elementary school to open in the Grapevine-Colleyville Independent School District.~ The original "Timberline Broncos" shared their first year in the building with Cannon Elementary while the other school was being remodeled.~ The original garden center was a joint project by the PTA and the city of Grapevine benefiting Timberline.~ The front roses were planted in memory of Ray Shelton, the first building custodian.

Timberline was closed during the 1996-1997 school year for renovations.~ During that year Timberline students occupied two halls of Cross Timbers Middle School.~ Upon returning to the newly remodeled building, students voted to change the mascot to the "Timberline Tigers."

Through the years the Timberline faculty members have continued to make significant contributions to the success of several other schools within the district such as O. C. Taylor Elementary, Grapevine Elementary, and Glenhope Elementary.~ Former Timberline teachers and vice principals have become principals at Cannon Elementary, Bransford Elementary, Glenhope Elementary, Silver Lake Elementary, Colleyville Elementary, Heritage Elementary, Colleyville Middle, Cross Timbers Middle, Ft. Worth Christian, and Prosper Elementary.

Timberline is very fortunate to have had the direction and leadership of ten wonderful principals: Riney Jordan, Charles Dunn, Paul Jennings, Julia Lyda, Sandee Williams, Rob Thornell, Cody Spielmann, Jodi Cox, June Ritchlin, Shelley Ingram and the current principal, Liz Hilcher.